Happy New Year!!!

The holidays are over.  It is the second day of the first month of 2015.  I am also one year older and a teensy, bit wiser (I’d like to think so, anyway).

I feel like it’s kind of a bust when the new year begins in the middle of the week, rather than on the beginning of the week because, then it really feels like the beginning.  For example, my hubby and I celebrated 2015 and then he had to get up and go to work the next day at 5 a.m.    I mean he has to go to work because these bills aren’t going to pay themselves  but, you know what I mean.  I don’t know, I’m probably being a little type A but, think about it.  The first of the year beginning on the first day of the week.  It makes calendars so nice and neat.  Hey!  Is there a way that we could make it so January 1st is always a Monday?  I’m sure we could vote someone in that could make that possible right?

I’m not concerned about the logistics of it and how all the other days of the year will fall into place because they’ll still exist so, no worries there.  If we can add a day to the calendar every 4 years (and do NOT get me started on the poor people born on those days) , I think this idea of mine is feasible.

Wait, I just looked up the definition for feasible…scratch that.  I think this idea of mine is not impossible.  (Better, right?)

But, really, I am thankful to be here in a new year.  I do not have any resolutions because, honestly, I should always be striving and reaching to new levels in my life. Okay, okay, as good as that previous statement sounds, I know (and some of you may have a sneaking suspicion ), I am not always striving and reaching new levels in my life. And let’s be honest, our goals and motivations change with mood, the day of the week, and our hunger level (that last one may only apply to me but, I’m just being honest).  That is why I don’t make resolutions because I fall short but, I’m only human.  I’m learning to be okay with that.

I am also learning that my goals should be realistic and within the realm of who I am as a unique being.  Things get messy and difficult when I look to my left and right and see what everyone else is up to.  It’s good to be aware of my surroundings but I am Samantha and that’s…that’s great.

Leave a Reply

